Disappearing bloggers?

September 19, 2009

Ian wrote a comment on his Facebook page that all the bloggers are disappearing – perhaps being sucked in by the perfidy of Facebook or even Twitter.  I’ve never blogged – I’ve been lamenting the disappearance of the letter written on paper with pen-and-ink.  Maybe I need to move up a notch (from the letters I wish for but never write) and down a notch (from the Facebook that draws so much of my attention, for no apparent reason), and try writing a blog.  Or a journal.  Or whatever.  So this is the initial blog entry.

I’ve been writing all day, frantically, no let’s make that all week, on a project at work.  Great volumes of words – now up to 31 pages, single spaced – all to be picked apart by others, and then smashed back together again in a slightly less coherent (but more to their liking) way.  Working with the wonders of Word Perfect’s “review” function (which I pretty much get) and internal page cross references (which I don’t get yet), and trying to stay with the flow of the writing.  Try to stay consistent, so it’s always “Mr. So-and-So” rather than simply “So-and-So.”  Even if you detest So-and-So, you always have to give him the honorific.

So why is there so much work for lawyers (or at least my kind of lawyer) these days, when everyone else seems to be losing jobs right and left?  I figure it’s because, when times are hard, people start looking around for where they can get some money.  “That sleazebag doctor that makes so much money, let’s sue him.”  “That lawyer who didn’t get us the result we wanted – let’s sue him.”  If the lawyers and doctors get sued, then we (who defend lawyers and doctors) have work to do.  I don’t think all these plaintiffs ought to be so suit-happy, but I can’t complain too much, because it does provide work for me.  But politically, it’s not the right thing.  We are generating words on paper, eating trees and spewing carbon with our photocopy machines and printers, all for the promotion of the big pay-off for the plaintiff with the best lawyer.  How about we redistribute the wealth a bit, by capping liability awards, and redistribute some of the legal costs and liability pay-outs into a health care fund for all of us?  The plaintiff who is so badly injured – he shouldn’t get the giant pay-off, but should share the wealth with a national health care system that will provide for his care along with everyone else’s.

Saying “cap” of course, makes me a traitor to the liberal cause.  Saying “national health care system” gets me in trouble with most of my legal colleagues and conservative friends (do I have any conservative friends?)   So the truth is that I keep pretty quiet and don’t say any of these things, because I’d rather keep all of my friends, and not offend anyone.  (A definite character flaw!)

Is a blog supposed to be a coherent essay, or am I allowed to ramble, like I just did?  Will anyone read it if I ramble?

One Response to “Disappearing bloggers?”

  1. Ian said

    That’s one of the best parts of a journal/blog — you’re allowed to do whatever you want. Ramble, if that’s what strikes your fancy.

    One thing to keep in mind, though, is that words comitted to the global online Internet are *very* difficult to erase, once entered, and can come back to haunt you. I try to write about topics and events and opinions I’d be comfortable telling to any stranger who cared to listen, since that’s effectively what a blog or journal is.

    And my favorite irony of all is that the comment I wrote was actually on my journal/blog, and was only carried over onto Facebook because of an automated process I asked FB to establish.

Leave a Reply

